Singapore-based online bookstore - 10 million titles - 7-day local delivery - tracking number - collect paid books from Bugis Junction
When Breath Becomes Air
Hardcover - English

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
THE WASHINGTON POST - THE NEW YORK TIMES - NPR

BOOKS FOR A BETTER LIFE AWARD FINALIST
At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naive medical student -possessed, - as he wrote, -by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life- into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality.
What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir.
Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. -I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything, - he wrote. -Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: 'I can't go on. I'll go on.'- When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both.
Praise for When Breath Becomes Air
-I guarantee that finishing this book and then forgetting about it is simply not an option. . . . Part of this book's tremendous impact comes from the obvious fact that its author was such a brilliant polymath. And part comes from the way he conveys what happened to him--passionately working and striving, deferring gratification, waiting to live, learning to die--so well.---Janet Maslin, The New York Times
-An emotional investment well worth making: a moving and thoughtful memoir of family, medicine and literature. It is, despite its grim undertone, accidentally inspiring.---The Washington Post
-Possesses the gravity and wisdom of an ancient Greek tragedy . . . Kalanithi] delivers his chronicle in austere, beautiful prose. The book brims with insightful reflections on mortality that are especially poignant coming from a trained physician familiar with what lies ahead.---The Boston Globe
-Devastating and spectacular . . . Kalanithi] is so likeable, so relatable, and so humble, that you become immersed in his world and forget where it's all heading.---USA Today
-It's Kalanithi's] unsentimental approach that makes When Breath Becomes Air so original--and so devastating. . . . Its only fault is that the book, like his life, ends much too early.---Entertainment Weekly
-Split my head open with its beauty.---Cheryl Strayed

S$ 44.81
S$ 35.84
April 2017 Promo: 20% off storewide
In Stock (647 copies available)
Usually delivered within 4-7 working days.
Quick, local delivery
Books at your doorstep within 7 working days
Peace of mind
Books sent via local courier with tracking numbers, no missing package
Flat delivery fee
Single delivery fee for any books purchased. Save more when buying more books
Competitive prices
Lowest price on most books in Singapore, all 10 million titles
Care for your books
Books sent with thick bubble wrap for protection. We're serious about book condition

ADDITIONAL INFO

ISBN
081298840X
EAN
9780812988406
Publication Date
12/01/2016
Pages
256
Dimension
19.05cm x 13.72cm x 2.79cm
Age Group
NA to NA
Grades
Not Applicable to Not Applicable
Lexile Level
0
Award
About Author




Verghese, Abraham
A practicing physician and a professor of medicine at Stanford University, Abraham Verghese is the author of "My Own Country" and "Cutting for Stone". His writing has appeared in "The New Yorker", "Granta", and other publications. He lives in Palo Alto, California.

Categories
Also Available In