Singapore-based online bookstore - 15 million titles - 7-day local delivery - trackable - or collect from 100+ lockers islandwide
Tears We Cannot Stop: A Sermon to White America
Hardcover - English

NOW A NEW YORK TIMES, PUBLISHER'S WEEKLY, INDIEBOUND, LOS ANGELES TIMES, WASHINGTON POST, CHRONICLE HERALD, SALISBURY POST, GUELPH MERCURY TRIBUNE, AND BOSTON GLOBE BESTSELLER NAMED A BEST/MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2017 BY: The Washington Post - Bustle - Men's Journal - The Chicago Reader - StarTribune - Blavity - The Guardian - NBC New York's Bill's Books - Kirkus - Essence

"One of the most frank and searing discussions on race ... a deeply serious, urgent book, which should take its place in the tradition of Baldwin's The Fire Next Time and King's Why We Can't Wait. --The New York Times Book Review

Toni Morrison hails Tears We Cannot Stop as Elegantly written and powerful in several areas: moving personal recollections; profound cultural analysis; and guidance for moral redemption. A work to relish.

Stephen King says: Here's a sermon that's as fierce as it is lucid...If you're black, you'll feel a spark of recognition in every paragraph. If you're white, Dyson tells you what you need to know--what this white man needed to know, at least. This is a major achievement. I read it and said amen.

Short, emotional, literary, powerful--Tears We Cannot Stop is the book that all Americans who care about the current and long-burning crisis in race relations will want to read.

As the country grapples with racist division at a level not seen since the 1960s, one man's voice soars above the rest with conviction and compassion. In his 2016 New York Times op-ed piece Death in Black and White, Michael Eric Dyson moved a nation. Now he continues to speak out in Tears We Cannot Stop--a provocative and deeply personal call for change. Dyson argues that if we are to make real racial progress we must face difficult truths, including being honest about how black grievance has been ignored, dismissed, or discounted.

The time is at hand for reckoning with the past, recognizing the truth of the present, and moving together to redeem the nation for our future. If we don't act now, if you don't address race immediately, there very well may be no future.

S$ 42.64
S$ 36.20
Local courier delivery with tracking number or collect from 100 lockers islandwide
SCHOOL & CORPORATE ORDERS
Available (248 copies available)
Usually delivered within 4-7 working days.
Quick, local delivery
Books at your doorstep within 7 working days
Peace of mind
Books sent via local courier with tracking numbers, no missing package
Flat delivery fee
Single delivery fee for any books purchased. Save more when buying more books
Competitive prices
Lowest price on most books in Singapore, all 10 million titles
Care for your books
Books sent with thick bubble wrap for protection. We're serious about book condition

ADDITIONAL INFO

ISBN
EAN
9781250135995
Publisher
Publication Date
17/01/2017
Pages
240
Dimension
19.56cm x 13.46cm x 2.29cm
Age Group
NA to NA
Grades
Not Applicable to Not Applicable
Lexile Level
0
Award
About Author

Dyson, Michael Eric
"Michael Eric Dyson" is an ordained Baptist minister and Ida B. Wells Barnett University Professor at DePaul University. He is the author of "Making Malcolm: The Myth and Meaning of Malcolm X, Between God and Gangsta Rap, " and "Race Rules: Navigating the Color Line." He lives with his family in Chicago.




Categories
Also Available In